Posted by: Michelle | July 12, 2007

All About Me Challenge

Well, after having to totally rethink my layout (since I am too wordy), I did sit down last night and complete my All About Me challenge page, sort of. I had to actually put the photo on this morning, but all of the hard parts were done. I was a little bit bummed when I realized that the sketch of a layout that I had made wasn’t going to work, but I went to Doodlebug Designs for inspiration and scraplifted one of their layouts. Here is my All About Me layout:

A Scrapper Looks at 40

My title inspiration came from a Jimmy Buffet song – A Pirate Looks at 40. My thinking was probably driven by the fact that I was preparing for a trip to the beach and that my 40th birthday isn’t too far off.

Once I had the title figured out, I knew that I had to do a tropical layout, so I asked my husband to take a picture of me at the beach. (BTW, the glare on the photo is from the photo of the layout, not on the original photo.) While at the beach, I thought about my journalling and what I would want to say. I actually wrote a much longer version but decided to simplify it for the layout. After I got back from the beach, I bought the hibiscus print paper and coordinating solids.

The journalling says:

Some people make lists of things they want to do and places they want to see before they die. I’m not one of those people. I don’t want to look back on my life and focus on what I didn’t accomplish. I’d much prefer to look back and remember all of the great opportunities that I have had. Opportunities to be with my husband and our sons. Opportunities to work for someplace that makes a difference and to do something I feel proud of. Opportunities to travel to places that I didn’t even know that I wanted to go. I’d much rather count my blessings than dwell on my regrets.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on my page.

Responses

  1. Thank you. I’m sorry that I didn’t complete this page in time for your All About Me page challenge. Of course, your challenge and the results that people did share inspired my page quite a bit.

  2. This a a great layout Michelle. Love how you’ve broken up the journaling into strips and how you’ve used the pink with orange colour scheme. A brave choice but it works well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

