Posted by: Michelle | July 30, 2007

Black and White Photos – Color Layout

I am still trying to plug away at my chronological family album between challenges. This weekend, I spent working on various pages from Mother’s day (of this year). That day my older son and I went to Patapsco Female Institute and I took several black and white photos of the stablized ruins. Well, yesterday, it came time to put those images into the scrapbook. I chose to use some Daisy Ds papers that I had bought a while back – a dark green plaid and a dark purple stripe. I thought that the dark colors set off the photos nicely – plus I just love green and purple. Here is the result:

BW Photo Layout 1BW Photo Layout 2

As I went back and looked at my photos, I was struck by how many I had taken of the windows in the old school building. I chose to focus on those – obviously.

Our tour guide was fantastic and we came away with a real sense of what it must have been like for the girls who were studying there in the second half of the 1800’s. When I combined that idea with the photos that I had selected, I felt that Windows to the Past was the perfect title.

Responses

  1. It’s actually not black. It is the CM eggplant or whatever the darkest purple they have is.

  2. I like how you used the purple to separate the picture from the black framing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

