Posted by: Michelle | September 2, 2007

Special Object Challenge Completed

Well, after getting off to a slow start, I finally completed my special object page challenge. As you see, the page turned out to be very simple, but I think that is what I really wanted all along. The journalling is more about the experience that surrounds the object, but I think it works. It says:

Who knew that my junior high fantasies of marrying Mike would one day become a reality? As life took us on very different paths, the possibility that we would one day be together seemed more and more unlikely. But, fate has a funny way of intervening. When our paths crossed in the fall of 1994, it quickly became obvious that they were not just crossing, but were in fact joining one another. On April 26, 1996, I married my first and only true love.

Special Object Challenge Page

You can click on the picture to see it at full-size. I remember when we were planning the wedding, one thing that I was adamant about was that I didn’t want the bride & groom wedding cake topper. I was thrilled when I found this glass topper with the two swans in the heart. The bakery even added a little bit of purple tulle to it to make it match our cake.

I would love to hear what you think of the page and, if anyone is willing to share, I would love to hear your stories of first love. I met my husband when I was in 8th grade and we dated briefing a couple of times while I was still in school. But both times, our relationship ended when he went back to his other girlfriend – who he eventually married. Only after we were both out of school for many years and his first marriage ended, did we get together for good.

Responses

  1. […] that has some special significance to us for whatever reason. Just to refresh your memory, I did a page about the topper from my wedding cake and all that it symbolizes for me. Lori’s object is quite different but still just as […]

  2. Spoken like a true bachelor.

  3. Though I like cake!

  4. True love is gross!

  5. The cake topper was very difficult to photograph since it is almost all glass. I actually took probably a dozen shots with different backgrounds and ordered 7 different ones to select from. Ultimately, I let Mike pick which picture was the best.

    The hardest part about the page itself is probably not even something that you can even really tell from the picture. The line across the journalling box is a piece of lace with the small pearls like are on the topper. Figuring out a way to adhere that to the page proved challenging, but it was worth it since that is the exact embellishment that the page needed.

  6. You’re right – it is simple, but nice. Unfortunately I can’t see the cake topper too clearly through the photo. The wording was very nice – too bad you don’t have it in your wedding album. Maybe someday down the road you can do an anniversary album.


Leave a Reply

Categories

