Posted by: Michelle | February 9, 2008

Top Ten

Okay, I got all caught up and completed my Top Ten page last night. T is still putting the finishing touches on his page but right now his attention is more focused on messing with Lexi, our Great Dane.

So, since Lori completed her page first, I will share hers first:

Lori’s Top Ten Challenge

As usual, I took a very different direction. Here is my page:

Michelle’s Top Ten Challenge

I don’t know if you will be able to read the journaling on either page even if you look at the full-sized images and my page probably needs a bit of explanation. In every family, there are certain words and phrases that become unique to that family. It may be a child’s inability to pronounce a word correctly or just a phrase that someone says incorrectly that catches on. My page celebrates those wacky words and phrases that are unique to my family. Here are the words and their definitions.

10. Geen (adj): of the color of growing foliage, between yellow and blue in hue
9. Ogen (n): a semitropical evergreen tree of the genus Citrus, having fragrant white flowers and round, yellowish-red fruit with a sectioned interior; (adj) – any of a group of colors between red and yellow in hue
8. Snifer Riple (n): firearm used by a skilled military marksman detailed to spot and pick off enemy troops from a concealed place.
7. Hostible (n): an institution providing medical or surgical care for the sick and injured
6. Allilator (n): large amphibious reptile of the southeastern United States or China with sharp teeth, powerful jaws and a broad, short snout.
5. Tanner (n): a solid, usually cylindrical, mass of a fatty substance, as tallow or wax, with an axially embedded wick that is burned to provide light
4. Efelant (n): either of two large, five-toes pachyderms characterized by a long, prehensile trunk formed of the nose and upper lip
3. Fikes and Norves (n): (a) Fike: an implement or piece of equipment with two or more prongs used for serving or eating food; (b) Norv: a cutting instrument having a sharp blade with a handle
2. Yem Yems (n): candy-coated chocolate candies
1. Mamu (n): a female parent

Many of these are still used in our family quite regularly while others have passed into just being memories.

I will leave it up to Lori about whether she wants to share more about her page in the comments below.

Also, as always, we would love to hear your thoughts on our pages and if you have completed a Top Ten page that you would like to share, we would love to see it.

Responses

  1. Thanks. It was fun going back through our list of unique words. A couple that didn’t make the list are renember and rellergic allaction.

  2. great page. great family words!

  3. I knew that my page would not make much sense without some explanation. I am glad that I documented these unique words and shared their meanings with the rest of the world. I really should create a complimentary page that explains the derivation of each of the words.

  4. I like your page Michelle. I really like the mix of colors. But you’re right, you need the added explanation to know exactly what you are looking at. As far as my page is concerned, it’s obvious that it is about Daniel and his wackiness. He is secretly pleased with my page and the options I chose to indicate that I love about him. One thing my husband and I have always said about him is how much his smile and his laughter really mean to us. Daniel can be a very serious child at times, but as soon as he smiles it melts your heart and as soon as he laughs you can’t help but laugh with him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

