Posted by: Michelle | February 24, 2008

Ad Challenge Results

Believe it or not, Lori and I both were able to complete our ad inspired pages today. Here is the ad that Lori used as her inspiration:

Lori’s Ad Inspiration

And here is the page that this ad inspired:

Lori’s Ad Inspired Page

Here is the ad that inspired my page:

Michelle’s Ad Inspiration

And, here is the page that I made based on this ad:

Michelle’s Ad Inspired Page

As always, you can click on any of the thumbnails to see larger versions of the pictures.

This is not the advertisement that I originally planned to use for this challenge, but when I saw it, I just knew that I had to use it. I know that every parent feels that their children are the most beautiful children in the world, and I am no different. Regardless, I do feel that both of my boys have very beautiful eyes, so it was fun for me to able to really focus in on their eyes. I loved the colors in the ad, even though the colors I used are much lighter. I even loved a quotation that appeared in the ad – “To look into a child’s eyes is to discover the magic and promise of tomorrow…” so I used it as the starting point for my journaling.

Hopefully Lori will post a comment about her motivations and her thoughts about her page. You too can feel free to post comments letting us know what your thoughts are about our pages.

Responses

  1. Yes, the ad that I used was in the November/December 2007 issue of Scrapbooks etc. It is for a company called Quick Quotes . Their website is http://www.shopquickquotes.com and I guess the photo in the ad is one that they commonly use as it was on their home page.

  2. Michelle – I like your page. That’s a very cool idea. I can’t really tell what type of ad it is though. Is it from a scrapbooking magazine? When I first started looking for an ad I didn’t really think I’d come up with anything special. Nothing was inspiring me. So I figured I would find an ad that had interesting colors and possibly a decent layout, but that would be basically like doing it from a sketch. And then I found the ad I used. It was the “before” and “after” ads that captured my attention. I originally thought about getting a picture of Daniel all covered in mud and dirt and grime, but since I didn’t have any, and I wasn’t too interested in actually creating that mess on purpose, I passed on the ad. But then I remembered Cookie Day at Stephanie’s and Caroline’s love for getting her hands into the cookie dough. She was a mess! And I was a mess. It was the perfect photo for the before and after look.


Leave a Reply

Categories

