Posted by: Michelle | March 22, 2008

We Are Back

Well, we got back from Hawaii yesterday afternoon. We had a fabulous time and didn’t really want to come home, especially to the cold weather that we are having. (The temperature here was 29 degrees when I got up.) Needless to say, I took tons of pictures – about 400. Some are good. Some are not so good. I still am in the process of going through them to select the ones that I think are great. Once I do that, I will share a few here. Don’t worry, I won’t bore you with all 400.

Everyone thinks of beautiful oceans and even more beautiful flowers when they think of Hawaii, and they wouldn’t be wrong. I think the thing that impressed us the most about Hawaii was not either of those though. We were just amazed by the lava fields. They probably aren’t the most picturesque thing in Hawaii – huge black fields of cooled lava – but they are probably one of the most significant. For me, the huge lava fields showed the power of nature. We saw one place where lava flows overwhelmed an entire village less than a dozen years ago – we couldn’t get anyone to pin down exactly which year it really was. The part that was the most shocking to us was that families were coming back and rebuilding their homes right where they had been. Now, personally, I think that if I saw my home and everything in it completely destroyed like that, I would not be going back and rebuilding in the same area, but these people were. Realistically, one of the reasons is probably because land values on the Big Island have increased dramatically over the last few years and people can’t afford to pick up and start over some where else.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I did take a lot of pictures of flowers – the hibiscus were gorgeous – and of the ocean. I also got some shots of waterfalls, which for anyone who knows me well, I am a total sucker for waterfalls. As a matter of fact, my very first scrapbook page was using photos of waterfalls that I had seen while camping on Skyline Drive in Virginia. I am looking forward to working on pages using my new crop of waterfall photos.

Well, I guess I should get back to uploading photos so that I can evaluate them and share some of the best with you. Check back tomorrow and I will try to have at least a couple of shots posted.

Responses

  1. Personally, I love all waterfalls no matter how big or small.

  2. Glad you are home safe! Missed ya. I bet Hawaii waterfalls blow Skyline waterfalls away!


Leave a Reply

Categories

