Posted by: Michelle | June 5, 2008

Close Call

My area got rocked by some pretty bad storms last night and the conditions were ripe for tornadoes. While we don’t believe that any tornadoes actually touched down, we still had severe enough winds that the schools held the children for about 20 minutes rather than risking having them on their way home in the storm.

We had a few small branches down and lots of leaves and twigs in the road, but I saw some signs that things could have been much worse. Our neighbor wasn’t quite as lucky as we were. He has (or had) a beautiful weeping willow tree in the yard next to his house. Here are pictures of the tree now.

Responses

  1. jl,

    I will admit that I’m not quite sure what to make of your comment. I understand that we can certainly plant another tree, but it can’t really replace the tree that was there. That tree was the meeting place that we agreed upon with our children in case of an emergency where we had to evacuate our home. It was also a landmark that we could give friends when they were trying to find our home for the first time. It was a beautiful tree that is no longer.

  2. You must be kidding it’s a tree.there are many more of them out there go plant another one

  3. Then I will change my tune from prayers of hope to mourning for the loss!

  4. I am sad to report that the tree lost that battle. I don’t know for certain, but I suspect that when the weight was removed from the one side that it may have made the tree too unstable. When I got home last evening, all of the branches had been removed and this morning they were working on reducing the stump. I expect the stump may even be gone by this evening.

  5. First, I’m glad no one was injured, and your home was not damaged.

    Second, weeping willows happen to be my favorite tree, so I will pray that it lives through its recent battle with Ma Nature…

    I gotta say though, from the pics, it’s not lookin’ good.

  6. I don’t know about the hanging swing since the limbs are not the strongest. I have always loved weeping willow trees, so I am really hoping that he is able to save the tree. I guess we will have to wait and see if he can.

  7. Oh no! Poor weeping willow! I always wanted to have a weeping willow with a hanging swing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

