Posted by: Michelle | April 5, 2009

Making Up for Lost Time

Last week, I seem to have been in a total creative void. Whenever I tried to sit down and work on cards, nothing seemed to work right. Well, I think that I am finally coming out of it.

When I saw this week’s sketch over at Sketch Saturday, I knew that I wanted to try it. I just got the stamp that I won from Just Christmas and Birthday Cards in the mail yesterday, so I decided that I really wanted to ink it up. That just left papers and colors. My youngest son was looking at my challenge list (yes, I write down the various challenges to help keep them all straight) and decided that he wanted to work on a card for the current challenge at Cute Card Thursday which is to use citrus colors – pinks, yellows, oranges, and greens. Okay, my color palette has been selected. Here is the card that I made:

citrus-saturday-out

I also decorated the inside just a bit since I had a cute sentiment that tied in perfectly with my colors:

citrus-sat-in

I apologize for the picture quality. I haven’t quite mastered the best way to photograph the insides of cards yet. The sentiment reads, “Those who bring sunshine to the lives of others cannot keep it from themselves.”

I’d love to hear what you think.

Also, this morning, I was working on a sample card for one of my co-workers who wants me to make thank you cards for her daughter’s first birthday. The theme she has chosed for the party is cupcakes and the color scheme is pinks and purples. When I showed her the card that my son made for his teacher using the “Is that a cupcake on your head?” stamp, she fell in love with everything about the card, so I tried to work from it but still make the card unique. Here is what I came up with:

simmons-thank-you

I’m not 100% sure if she is going to like it or not. I will show it to her tomorrow and if she loves it, I will get busy making more. What are your thoughts about it?

Responses

  1. Fabulous card. Love the image and the colours you’ve used. Michele x

  2. Very nice! I really like your combo of your decorations. Just lovely!

    Monica at scrapoleket.blogspot.com

  3. Two beauties!! i’m sure your friend will be thrilled with the cupcake card.
    Hugs
    Sandra xx

  4. Beautiful cards, thanks for joining in the CCT challenge


Leave a Reply

Categories

