Posted by: Michelle | June 2, 2009

2 Sketches 4 the 4th

This week is the first week of the Ultimate Card Showdown over at 2 Sketches 4 You and I couldn’t wait to participate. Since this is the ultimate showdown, I wanted to do something a bit different and unexpected. I was going to make a paperbag book but instead decided to make a paperbag card that could be used to send a gift card or some other flat goodie. Here is my card:

july4-front

For the front, I followed the sketch, but then I also decorated the inside and this is where I diverted from the sketch:

july4-inside

The striped paper covers the flap at the bottom of the bag and the sentiment overflows over the flap. I used some bling to simulate fireworks. You can see the opening of the bag along the edge of the card.

I used more papers from the Provocraft Americana pack that I have been obsessed with of late and the two sentiments are both from Creative Memories.

I am happy with hos it turned out. I think it is fun and a little different. What do you think?

Responses

  1. Very nice and patriotic! I like the colors and what a fun way to use the sketch!

    Clouds 😀

  2. How cute….great idea!!

  3. Very creative. I love it. Good luck with the challenge.

  4. cool card! Good luck!

  5. I LOVE that you used a paperbag to turn it into this wonderful card.

    Thanks so much for taking part in the UCS

  6. What a cute idea! So patriotic too!

  7. What a great idea! I love this bag idea:) Thanks for playing at 2S4Y!
    Laura

  8. Great card. Like the fireworks on the front.

  9. Love the whimsy feel to this patriotic card, very lovely!

  10. Super fabulous! TFP!

  11. Great idea

  12. Michelle,

    This is so cute! I love this idea…

    Smiles,
    –Kathryn

  13. cute idea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

