Posted by: Michelle | July 11, 2009

A Bit Remiss

I realize that I have been neglecting my poor Scrappy Hours friends for the last week or so, but it was for a good cause. I have been getting ready for a crop that I attended last night. I planned out 12 pages and in the 4 hours of the crop, I was able to get them almost all done. I need to add embellishments and journalling to one and I just need to finish journalling on the last set. I am thrilled by how much I was able to accomplish in the short time. In addition to getting 12 pages completed for my family album, I got to hang out with some wonderful women.

As any of you who attend crops know, the social aspect is almost (if not equally) as important as being able to get pages done. My friend, Janet, was sharing funny stories from her recent cruise. Another women shared a story of how she came to have a bruise on her arm – missing a step when entering a restroom. Well, that reminded me of what is now a funny story that our family shared. It was several years ago and the whole family had headed down to Myrtle Beach for some fun in the sun. One evening, we were at Barefoot Landing and my hubby and I were browsing in one of the shops. The boys were bored, so they decided to wait outside. While we were browsing, the youngest decided that he had to use the bathroom, so the oldest boy dutifully notified us of where they would be and took the little man to find a men’s room. When they found the men’s room, the youngest was fascinated with the urinal and the fact that he was finally tall enough that he could use it. So, he conducted his business and was finishing up, but he was moving kind of slow. The oldest boy tried to hurry him up. The youngest, not wanting to make his brother angry, quickly bent down to pull up his shorts. Unfortunately, he had not stepped back from the urinal and when he went to bend down, he slammed his forehead right into the urinal. Needless to say, it hurt so he started crying hysterically. The forehead immediately started swelling up. The oldest son almost panicked. He sent the middle son to find us while he tried to calm the youngest one down. We all gathered near the restrooms and then went in search of some ice. Happily everyone was fine – well, the youngest had a bit of a headache – and once the situation calmed down, we stopped for ice cream on the way back to our beach condo.

I shared this story last night and now the ladies want me to create a layout to commemorate the story. I didn’t take any pictures at the time, so I am trying to figure out what I might do. I wonder if I can get the youngest to take a picture of a urinal for me.

Scrapbooking is all about capturing those memories that you think you will never forget. I think the ladies were right that I really do need to create a page to remind me of this story (and to embarrass my youngest as he gets even older). Do you have any stories such as this that you swear you will never forget? Perhaps now would be the right time to create a layout to recall the story. If you do, share the results.

Leave a Reply

Categories

