Posted by: Michelle | September 23, 2009

For My Son

This past weekend, my oldest, actually my step-son, left for Parris Island to begin his Marine Basic Training. I am so incredibly proud of him. This was a very difficult decision for him to make as he has a wonderful girlfriend who is still finishing up high school and being apart can’t be easy on either one of them. While he is in Boot Camp, I hope to make and send him a card each week and I hope to make some cards for his girlfriend too – just to help her keep her spirits up. Here is the first of the cards for him:

for-justin

I based my card on the latest sketch from Mojo Monday. (Yes, I know that I already posted a card for this sketch, but it seemed appropriate for this card too). The scalloped bunting and the dog tag were cut using the Stand and Salute Cricut cartridge. The ribbon was some that I had bought years and years ago and had never really used. Now, I just need to try to write an encouraging note in the card (without crying).

I just hope that he realizes how much all of us love him and miss him and are so very proud of him.

Responses

  1. I love the card especially the circles you used! Please give your son a HUGE thanks from me for chosing to join the military. I will keep him in my thoughts and prayers.

    I’m sure he knows how much you love him and how proud you are of him!
    Maria


Leave a Reply

Categories

