Posted by: Michelle | September 28, 2009

My Favorite Somethings

The current challenge over at Stamp Something is to use your favorite sketch or layout. I went back through my big old binder of card sketches that I have printed out and found one that I loved from the old Magnolia vs Stampavie blog.

magnolia-stampavie-sketch

What I loved about the sketch at the time (and still do) is how the ribbon runs through the eyelets. Of course, this time, I didn’t use the eyelets, instead choosing to run ribbon through flowery buttons:

bca2

I did a bit of rearranging of the elements, and, if you are a regular follower, you will see that I am still thinking pink in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month which is next month. I did use one of my first Tilda stamps. Since it was a sketch from the Magnolia vs. Stampavie blog, it only seemed fitting. The printed papers are some that I bought when I was in Hawaii this past August. I love the flowers and the positive/negative aspect of the papers. Instead of a typical flourish, I included a pink gem ribbon that I purchased at Michaels. A portion of the proceeds of the sale of the gem embellishments will be going to the fight against breast cancer.

I am pretty happy with how it turned out and my oldest son even reacted saying that it was a pretty card. What do you think?

I also want to invite everyone to share stories about how their lives have been touched by breast cancer to help raise awareness about how pervasive this disease is. My aunt is currently undergoing treatment. I just found out the mother of some of our Boy Scouts is undergoing chemotherapy for breast cancer. My boss recently told me that his mother had also been diagnosed. All three of these strong and courageous women are in my prayers. How about you?

Responses

  1. What a fabulous layout! Fun card…very sweet image! Love the colors too! Thanks for playing at Stamp Something!

    Janna 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

