Posted by: Michelle | January 17, 2010

Unwinding After a Stressful Week

This week was a rough one for me. My mother was supposed to have angioplasty surgery on Wednesday, but when the doctor’s got in there, they discovered that the blockage was more severe than they thought. As a result, they will have to schedule bypass surgery at some point in the near future. On top of that, my husband was away from home more than he was at it this week between business meetings in Boston and taking our oldest down to Camp LeJeune for the next phase of his Marine Corps training.

As if that wasn’t enough, there was that major earthquake in Haiti. Now, you are probably wondering why an earthquake in Haiti would add stress to this Irish-American mother’s life. Well, I work for Catholic Relief Services and we have over 300 staff in Haiti. Fortunately, all of our staff are okay since they are very busy now responding to the needs of the thousands of people impacted by the earthquake. Please consider donating to Catholic Relief Services efforts in Haiti.

Needless to say, after the week that I have had, I needed to unwind a bit. How do I unwind? I make cards. This particular card works for a few different challenges. The latest challenge over at Penny Black Saturday challenge was a color challenge – blue, cream and gold. I had an idea of the sketch that I wanted to use – the latest one over at The Sweetest Thing (a fantastic blog that I recently discovered), but the color thing was still messing me up. I couldn’t figure out any of my Penny Black stamps that would work with those colors. So, after getting some work done, I trudged over to Michaels (in the rain) to see if I could find some papers/supplies that would work. As I wandered around the store, my ideas started coming together and I realized that I could make another card that would work for the latest Scrappy Hours challenge – New Beginnings. Here is what I came up with:

The golds don’t stand out in the picture, but they are definitely there. I would love to hear what you think of my card.

Responses

  1. Wonderful sweet card, adorable image.
    luv
    Debby

  2. super jolie j’aime beaucoup

  3. such a sweet card….love your take on the colour combo and thanks for joining in the fun this week at PBSC…hugs kath xxxxx
    sending best wishes to Mum

  4. This is so sweet! I love this little image and the colors are so soft and perfect!


Leave a Reply

Categories

