Posted by: Michelle | February 13, 2010

Outside the Box

One of my favorite things about doing card challenges is when they force me to step outside of my comfort zone and to think outside the box a bit. I will be the first to admit that I am really still a novice cardmaker, but the only way to change that is to try new things. When I saw the new challenge over at Secret Crafter Saturday Challenge – Multi-fold card – I saw an opportunity to try something new. I have tried a couple of cards that involved multiple folds, but I wasn’t going to make one of those. I decided to combine the challenge with the latest sketch from Sketch Saturday to help myself determine how I was going to incorporate multiple folds. For the image, I decided to use a Penny Black stamp and to participate in their new challenge – Valentines. With all of this in mind, I headed over to Split Coast Stampers to check out some tutorials. Here is what I finally came up with:

You can see that I kind of turned the sketch on an angle, but where are the multiple folds you ask? Here:

And here is a side-view so you can really see the folds:

This was something that was really new to me and more than a bit intimidating at first. I am really happy with how the final product turned out.

Responses

  1. That is a really sweet card! Love the folds and the cute doggie!
    http://jeanette-happythoughtsinkspots.blogspot.com/

  2. super jolie bravo

  3. Wow – this is fab!
    Thanks for joining us at the SCSC!
    Helen x

  4. such a sweet valentine card michelle…thanks for joining in the fun this week at PBSC….hugs kath xxxx

  5. Thanks for the kind words. I will admit that I practiced with another piece of cardstock first so that I was sure that I knew how all of the folds worked.

  6. Hiya Michelle. Good on yer for stepping outta yer comfort zone and trying something new! and OMG – this does not look like a first attempt – brilliant work!!! Love the design and colours. Your shading looks fantastic!

    Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Secret Crafter. I hope we see you again real soon. Good luck in the draw.

    Mel X

  7. Gorgeous card. Such a cute puppy!

    Thanks for joining us on SCSC 🙂

    Hugs Jane x


Leave a Reply

Categories

