Posted by: Michelle | March 3, 2010

Pink, Purple and Paper Piecing

Can you guess that ABC challenge is back around to the letter P? Seriously, their challenge this time is P is for Paper Piecing. Now, I don’t exactly have the best relationship with my craft knife, so I have really shied away from doing much paper piecing, but a challenge is supposed to be challenging. I actually knew exactly which image I wanted to use right away – Is that a cupcake on your head? The image worked well for the latest challenge over at Creative Card Crew – Celebrations. Now, I just needed to figure out how to put it all together so I decided to use the sketch from Inspirational Card Sketches.

Now, I didn’t have to use pink and purple, but for whatever reason whenever I use this image, I tend to use pinks and purples. I don’t know why. I pieced the cupcake icing, her hair and her shirt although it is difficult to really see it in the photo. I used chalks for most of the coloring with the exception of the cherry which I used markers for to give it the sheen of a cherry.

I’m not sure how often I will do paper piecing since my craft knife and I are still coming to terms with one another, but at least now, I have a bit more confidence and might be more willing to try it again.

Responses

  1. Love your simple layout and cute paper piecing too

    Thanks so much for joining in our Birthday celebrations at Creative Card Crew
    Hugs
    Victoria
    x

  2. great fun card, thanks for joining us at ics this week

  3. It is a very cute creation…. It inspires me to make a wish!!!! Yes! that challenge was really challenging as I attempted it for the first time….. May be u could drop over to check mine…. & share some thoughts of improvement, for me….. Though not sure, if I have attempted it right…. Because your paper piecing looks perfect…. mine has their ups & downs…. 😉

    Ash….
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  4. WOW what a lovely looking card. Thanks for joining us for challenge ICS56. 🙂
    ♥Dawn

  5. What a sweet card! Lovely take on the sketch! Thanks for playing along with us over @ ICS this week!
    Nini

  6. What a beautiful card i adore the image and fab layout. Thanks for taking part in the Birthday celebrations over at CCC and dont forget to pop over to my blog if you want to enter my DT candy.
    Paula xxxx

  7. What a sweet card! You did great with your paper piecing. I too have the same relationship with my craft knife. 😉

    Thanks for joning us at ICS this week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

