Posted by: Michelle | March 17, 2010

Going Green

Okay, no my card isn’t green, but it includes recycled items. I used the sketch from Pretty in Ink as my starting point and combined it with the latest from ABC Challenge – Q is for Quotation.

First, let me say that IRL the colors match up way better than they do in the photo. Now, I said that I recycled items to make this card. The ribbon is from a piece that my wonderful CM consultant used to tie a bag containing one of my orders closed. I always save the ribbons that she uses for just these kinds of occasions. The other item that is recycled is the footprints. A couple of years ago, my company moved to a new building. At some point after the move, one of the executive assistants was cleaning out some filing cabinets or something and came across a stack of laminated bookmarks. The bookmarks featured the story of the footprints in the sand and included these small gold feet between the layers of lamination. Unfortunately, the bookmarks included the wrong address so they were destined for the trashcan until the woman who found them thought that I might be able to find some creative ways to use them. Voila. There you have the story of my “green” card for St. Patrick’s Day.

Responses

  1. Fabulous card. I really love that sentiment, must remember it 🙂

    Thanks for joining us on ABC Challenges.

  2. Such a great card and quotation. Thank you for joining in the ABC challenge this time.
    Cathy xx

  3. wow fab card and recycling!
    Lisa 😉

  4. Michelle…you did a great job with the challenge…I love it…thanks for sharing…have a stampin’ good day.

    Stampin’ HUGZ
    Beverley

  5. Fab card – love the quote!
    Thanks for joining us at the ABC Challenge!
    Helen x

  6. Wow, such a beautiful card! Great recycling! 😉

    Love it!

    hugs Zimtschnecke

  7. Wow! Great recycling Michelle!
    Your card is beautiful! Great quote and gorgeous backing papers!
    I’m loving those gold feet embellies! I’m so glad that your co-worker thought that you could use them creatively! – You certainly did that! and the recycled ribbon is really lush too!
    Thanks so much for joining in!
    Hugs
    Nicola

  8. Now that is what I call resourceful!! Your card looks great, I’m loving that background designer paper! Well done.
    Kind regards
    Michelle


Leave a Reply

Categories

