Posted by: Michelle | April 28, 2010

Outside the Box

I’m going to be perfectly honest. Shaped cards terrify me. I think that they are beautiful when other people make them, but the idea of making one myself scares me. Of course, what is the best thing to do when you are afraid of something? Confront your fear. I have been tossing around an idea for a shaped card that I wanted to try and when I saw the new challenge over at Papertake Weekly Challenge – Do Something Different – I decided that the time was right.

I don’t know if I will actually give this to my mom or not. I might put it inside another card and send them both to her. She really was the inspiration behind this card. She loves “flutterbys,” and with everything that she has been through over the past few months, it is great to see her spreading her own wings and finding her way again. She really is an inspiration to me with the inner strength she has shown through this recent bout with medical issues. This isn’t the first time I have seen this strength. She is a two-time cancer survivor, and if you had asked her 20 years ago is she was a strong person and a fighter, she would have said, “No way!” But since that first battle with cancer in 1991, she has repeatedly amazed me with her strength and her courage.

Mom, I love you and you really are #1.

Responses

  1. Adorable card! Thank you for playing along with the Papertake Weekly challenge.


Leave a Reply

Categories

