Posted by: Michelle | May 15, 2010

Something to Celebrate

I think that our crafting is something worth celebrating in and of itself. That is why I decided to post an invitation on my Facebook page a while back. I invited my friends to comment on the post and promised to send something hand-made to the first 5 people who responded. I gave myself 3 months and within that time, I plan to deliver hand-made cards to each person who commented. One of the ladies who responded will be celebrating her birthday in just a couple of weeks on June 1, so I decided to make a birthday card for her based on the latest sketch from Friday Sketchers. This card also works for the Stamp Something challenge – Celebrate Something.

I have seen layouts and cards featuring these cute little calendars and bingo cards, but I never knew where to find them. I finally found some this morning when I checked out a new paper-crafting store with my youngest son. Can you tell that I was eager to use my new found goodies? Inside, I want to include a list of several things that happened on June 1 over the years, including my friend’s birth.

Responses

  1. WOW, what a wonderful idea! I love your card!

    Thanks for joining the Friday Sketchers and good luck!

    Hugs Tanja

  2. Great card! Love the calendar idea and the cheerful colors. Thanks so much for sharing your creation with us at Stamp Something this week, hope to see you back again! 🙂

  3. What a fantastic calendar card! I love this idea and I’m sure the recipient will too! I like that color combination a lot! Fun twist on a birthday card. Thanks for sharing at Stamp Something!

    Janna 🙂

  4. In case anyone cares, the important events from the past that I included on the card include:
    *Superman made his first appearance in DC Comics Action Comic Series.
    *The Beatles release Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.
    *The first 24-hour television news station – CNN- was launched.
    *Our birthday girl was born. (Of course, I entered her actual name rather than saying birthday girl.)

  5. Very thoughtful of you….. And Kudos to have kept up your word….. I was touched by that….. And so must & would be that lady, who would receive this masterpiece……. Lovely colors & sketch….. Simple Yet Elegant….. Hugs )))))

    Ash…
    (http://asha-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)


Leave a Reply

Categories

