Posted by: Michelle | May 29, 2010

Let Freedom Ring

When I set out to make a card this morning, I really didn’t intend to make a patriotic card. It just sort of worked out that way. But, in light of the fact that it is Memorial Day weekend, it seemed rather appropriate. I did plan to make a card based on the latest sketch from Card Patterns (#66). As soon as I grabbed some flowers, I thought that it would be easy to incorporate the new challenge from Secret Crafter Saturday Challenge – Buttons and Blooms. Unfortunately, I was too late on the Stamp Something challenge – 2 of Something – since I used 2 designer papers, 2 flowers and 2 buttons. Oh well.

As I said, I started with the flowers and decided to add button centers. I grabbed the red and white paper and was searching through my stash trying to find something that coordinated. Finally, I decided to look in my blues and found this paper with the stars. At this point, there was no doubt I was going patriotic. I searched through some vellum sentiments that I had in my stash and found the one that would work. Finally, I dug out my trusty bear with flag stamp and some white ribbon and this is the result.

Please take some time this weekend to remember the men and women serving in the military, many of whom are far from home this Memorial Day weekend. It is thanks to them that we can “Let freedom ring.”

Responses

  1. Beautiful work. Thanks for playing at Card Patterns.

  2. Super cute card.

  3. This is adorable! Love the patriotic theme and colors.

  4. Cute card hun, love the colours.
    Thanks for playing at SCSC this week.
    Hugs,
    Teri x

  5. How cute! Love the sky background and the colors.

  6. Such a fab card.
    Thank you for joining in the SCSC this time.
    Cathy xx

  7. Love your card; it has an Americana/country look to it. Very pretty!

  8. Adorable! Love your bear! Thanks for playing at Card Patterns!


Leave a Reply

Categories

