Posted by: Michelle | May 30, 2010

Challenge #5: Now for Something Completely Different

Welcome back everyone. The Taste of Success Challenge didn’t seem to whet everyone’s appetite. Hopefully, this new challenge will suit everyone’s tastes a bit better.

Now for Something Completely Different

For this challenge I want to see you try something new. It can be as simple as trying a new technique on your paper crafts. If you are a scrapbooker, you can make a card. If you work with paper, you can try your hand at creating digitally – or vice versa. Or, it can be something totally different. It doesn’t even have to use paper (which is something completely different). This is a great opportunity to try out that idea you have had but have always been afraid to try. And, don’t worry if it isn’t perfect. It is something new and different that you will be trying and what fun would it be if you got it perfect on the very first try.

The motivation behind this challenge started last Monday. I was watching the webcast on Cool2Craft last Monday and Tiffany Windsor demonstrated making Style Stone jewelry. Well, I have seen beautiful hand-made jewelry, but I have always been terrified of trying it myself. But, Tiffany’s demo convinced me that this was something that I could totally do. I immediately tracked down an online source for Style Stones and ordered several sets. Unfortunately, my order has not come in yet and apparently just mailed yesterday. I was so hoping to be able to at least get a stone or two painted that I could share. I have all of the other supplies just waiting for me, but without having received the Style Stones themselves, my hands are kind of tied.

All of that is just a long-winded explanation of why I don’t have any samples to share with you this time. But, I will. As soon as my Style Stones arrive, I intend to get busy and will share the results. I’m also going to spend some time trying to find some new paper-crafting technique to try to share in the mean time.

This challenge will run through June 12 and the next challenge will be posted on June 13th, so you will want to be sure to check back then.

So, it is time to step outside your creative comfort zone and to push yourself to try something new and different. Then share the results by posting a link in the comments on this post. If you don’t have a blog or online gallery, you can always e-mail me using the link on the side-bar and I can post the images for you. Happy creating!

Responses

  1. I have been at it again. I started on a project for my husband for Father’s Day. I used grunge board letters for my focal point. I have never used them before and I am really liking them.

  2. I promised that I would share some of my early work with the Style Stones, so here are a couple of my early ones. What do you think?

  3. Hey Michelle…. I did not what different I could try, but the challenge at StampTV surely came as a rescuer, for me to submit my entry to your different challenge….. I would love to try more & submit my entries here….. Fabric Stamped Hugs ))))

    Ash….
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  4. The guilt got to me. I had to make something that was new and different for me, so here it is.

    Happy creating,
    Michelle


Leave a Reply

Categories

