Posted by: Michelle | June 26, 2010

Challenge #7: All-American Girl

I can’t help it. I am an All-American girl. Next weekend, I will be celebrating the 4th of July with my family and will quite likely be watching fireworks. It’s just what we do.

All-American Girl

Now, I do realize that not all of my followers are from the United States so to make this challenge a little bit easier, I am going to ask you to find inspiration in the lyrics from Carrie Underwood’s song, All-American Girl. Now the lyrics talk about marriage, having babies, football (the American kind, unfortunately), so you don’t have to go all red, white and blue, and apple pie and baseball. I just want to see a card, layout or other paper-craft inspired by the lyrics. So, take a look at the lyrics and see what strikes you and then get creating.

Now, I created my sample and went all red, white and blue. Like I said, I am an all-American girl. Take a look:

I got my inspiration for the layout from the new sketch over at Sketch Saturday. I loved where they had the overlapping circles. Of course, for my all-American card, I replace the circles with stars. I actually really love how this card turned out, and I am really excited to see your interpretations of the song lyrics. Of course, if you choose to just use the title, like I did, that’s okay too. Have fun with it.

This challenge will run for two weeks through July 10 at which point, I will be posting another new challenge.

Responses

  1. I am getting super excited for tomorrow’s challenge! Just finished part of my project for it. It is a really special challenge, so I hope everyone will join the fun and invite their other crafty friends to join as well. See everyone tomorrow!

  2. Hey,

    Here is my second entry…….. Hugs )))))

    Baby Theme

    Ash…..
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  3. Hey Michelle,

    Here are my entries to the challenge as of now…. It is all LOVE & Nothing but LOVE….. πŸ˜‰ LOVE LIFE Will be back soon with my next too….

    Hugs ))))

    Ash…..
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  4. This is such a lovely card, glad you liked the sketch! πŸ™‚
    Thank you for joining in with us this week at Sketch Saturday
    Jo xx

  5. Okay, I wanted to post a sample that is inspired by the song, but not in patriotic colors. I was inspired by the opening line, “Since the day they got married… .”. If you read the post, you will understand the tie-in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

