Posted by: Michelle | June 29, 2010

Dreaming of…

This morning I checked the various challenge blogs and immediately ideas starting running through my head. The challenge over at A Spoon Full of Sugar was a two-parter. First, the primary challenge was Animal Crackers – create a card with an animal on it. Easy enough since most of my stamps are of various animals. The secondary challenge was to invite your child to make a card as well. Now, getting my youngest to make cards with me didn’t use to be a challenge, but as he has gotten older, he is not quite as interested in making cards with me. Fortunately, he decided that he would make one with me today though.

Here is his card.

Whenever I have used these dog-themed buttons on cards, he always says how much he doesn’t like them. But, when he was looking for an embellishment that would work with the dog image and I suggested one of the buttons, he decided to step out of his comfort zone a bit and use one.

Now, I used the latest sketch from over at Cupcake Craft Challenges as the starting point for my animal card. I started working on my card this morning and putting ideas together. I even stamped an image. Then, I had to head off to work. Somehow, while I was at work, my sub-conscious must have been thinking about the sketch because I came up with a completely different idea while I was commuting. Honestly, I am really glad that I did since I like the new concept way better than the original one.

My original plan was to use a cute zebra with sparklers image and to make a card for the 4th of July. While I am sure that it would have been nice, I love how this card turned out. I found the background paper by searching online for pirate treasure map. I printed one out and distressed the edges by tearing and inking. I found the treasure chest on one of my Cricut cartridges (along with the thought bubble) and cut them out. I added bling to the treasure chest with the help of my son. I had the skull and crossbones in a grungeboard set that I had purchased to play around with. I mounted it on black paper that I distressed with scissors. I created the floorboards the same way just out of brown paper that matched the treasure chest. Finally, the image is a stamp that I got from QKR Stampede a while ago. I love how all of the pieces came together. What do you think?

Responses

  1. Love that little pirate scene you´ve created!

    Thanks for playing with Cupcake Craft this week.

    Hugs,
    Kathrin aka Kruemel

  2. Great work and a fab take on the sketch. Thanks for joining us at CCC.

    Liza x


Leave a Reply

Categories

