Posted by: Michelle | July 5, 2010

All Dolled Up

I remember that when I was a little girl, my dad would get tickets for us to see performances at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. Usually, they were musicals by Rogers and Hammerstein, but sometimes it was just to hear the symphony orchestra play. Sometimes, we would go as a whole family, but I especially recall that there were times when he would just take me. I would get all dressed up for these special nights out and I remember thinking that I had to be the luckiest girl in the whole world on those special nights.

As I was working on this card, based on the latest from sketch from 2 Sketches 4 You, I couldn’t help but think back on those nights so long ago. I remember my mother putting curlers in my hair and sitting me under the hair dryer trying to get my straight hair to have a little bit of curl. I don’t ever recall any yellow dresses like the one on the card but I do remember a white one with a purple sash that was one of my very favorites for nights such as these. I hope the when my boys get to be my age that they have special memories of hanging out with me.

Responses

  1. This is such a darling card! I too remember my mom putting the soft spongy pink curlers and Dippity Doo in my hair for the night! : )

  2. love the color palette and those roses are just so darling.
    Thanks for joining us at 2S4Y this week
    🙂 Kazan

  3. What a cute image! Pretty card!

  4. i LOVE those rosebuds, and you did an awesome job teaming up the colors and the stamp, etc. GREAT job w/ the sketch!

  5. cute, cute, cute!

  6. Your card is darling and I love the bling! What a fun memory to inspire your creation 🙂

  7. So cute!! Great job!

  8. Very very pretty card… I loved the vibrant colors & the simple yet elegant look of the card…. 🙂

    Ash…
    (http://hastkala-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

  9. What a beautiful memory! And your card is wonderful, love the color scheme, orange is lovely!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

