Posted by: Michelle | July 11, 2010

New Challenge – Make a Child Smile

It is once again time for a new challenge here at Scrappy Hours and this one is a challenge with a cause. I am inviting everyone to make something for one of the children listed on the Make a Child Smile web site. Here is what Make a Child Smile is all about: We feature kids with life threatening illnesses and ask that you send them encouraging cards and/or gifts by POSTAL MAIL! So, I am asking you to take time out for one of these kids and to make a card or some other small gift and to send it to one of these special children.

Make a Child Smile Challenge

Now, before I tell you about the little girl that I made something for, I want to share the card that my 11-year-old son made for one of the little girls on the site. T chose to make something for Heather C. who has Intractable Epilepsy. Heather loves elephants and her favorite colors are pink and purple, so he made this card:

Now, for my project. I selected Haven F. whose main diagnosis is Ganglioneuroblastoma. Haven loves cooking, stuffed animals and arts & crafts. Sounds like a girl after my own heart. I made her this card (which I actually posted yesterday for the Card Patterns challenge:

I also bought a Bo-Bunny Cascade Board Book which I made into Haven’s Recipe book. I figured that if she loved cooking, she might want somewhere to gather her favorite recipes:

On the interior pages, I put lined journaling boxes that she can use to write her favorite recipes:

All of the papers that I used for the book are from the Basic Grey Sugar Rush collection and I have to admit that I think I saved the best paper for the back cover:

Isn’t that paper just too much?

Now, cruise on over to Make a Child Smile, read the stories of these amazing children and let them into your heart. Then take a little time and make something for one of them and mail it off. See how far your heart can reach. Make sure to post pictures of whatever you make and to highlight Make a Child Smile on your own blogs to help spread the word far and wide. Then, post a comment below with a link to your creation and let me know who you sent it to. I would love to see that every child on the list received something. Do you think we can make that happen?

This challenge will run through July 24th, so you have time, but don’t wait too long. Reach out to one of these children and bring a smile to their face (and to your own).

Responses

  1. So far, cards/gifts have been sent to (or will be sent to shortly) Isabella, Caleb, Heather, Ariel, Emily, Justine and Haven. Can you help us to reach out to the other children?

  2. Thanks, Kristi to you and the kids.

  3. We’re sending our cards to: Justine W., Emily F., Ariel M. and (after the kids made two more and are including a sticker book/paper airplane kit) Isabella R. (and her brother, J.D.). Thanks for letting us know about this great organization.

  4. One of my friends who lives just down the street from me made 3 cards this weekend. Now, she is brand new to cardmaking and was a bit too self-conscious to share her cards here, but with the 4 kids that my son and I reached out to and these 3, we are halfway to our goal of reaching out to all 14 of the kids currently listed on the site. Let’s see if we can get to 14 by this weekend!

  5. I couldn’t help myself. I made this card and thought it would be perfect for another one of the kids.

    How far can your heart reach? Can you reach out and make a child smile?

  6. As I read the stories of the children on the Make a Child Smile website, I find myself wanting to reach out to all of them as their stories touch my heart. I couldn’t resist making a card for another one of the children.

    Can we reach out to all of these kids and brighten their day just a little bit?


Leave a Reply

Categories

