Posted by: Michelle | August 22, 2010

Garden Fairy Composition Book

I had hoped to get some time in my scrapbook room yesterday, but that just didn’t quite work out. In the long run, I was okay with that because as a result I found a sketch challenge that worked even better with the project that I wanted to work on first. Instead of crafting, I took the boys and we headed out to Westminster for a bit of back-to-school shopping, visiting with a friend and seeing Great Danes. The back-to-school shopping got me thinking about the fact that I haven’s altered a composition book in a while and maybe I was a bit overdue.

The photo is a little blurry (sorry about that) but you can get the overall idea. I mentioned above that I found a sketch that inspired my layout. It was the new sketch over at The Sweetest Thing (#82). I tweaked it a bit to have the vertical piece stretch all the way to the edge so that I could cover the binding of the book, but I think I retained the overall feel of the sketch. The color scheme was from the Secret Crafter Saturday Challenge (#97) which invited people to use blue and cream. The image was inspired by the new challenge over at Craft Your Days Away – With Wings. Finally, I think that this can also work for the latest over at Stampin’ for the Weekend (#45) – Anything Goes.

While the blues don’t quite match, I do love the overall feel of the book cover. What do you think?

Responses

  1. This is lovely! Thanks for taking part in the CYDA challenge xx

  2. Lovely altered book and sweet image.

    Thanks for joining in with our “With Wings” challenge at Craft Your Days Away

    Crafty Creations by AJ
    Amanda

  3. lovely card…Thanks so much for joining us at scsc this week and good luck
    x
    vicky

  4. Sweet! Love all the blues – they look great together, Jo x

  5. Cute !

  6. I almost forgot to mention, the image is a digi that I got from over at Phindy’s Place. If you haven’t checked it her work, you really should.


Leave a Reply

Categories

