Posted by: Michelle | November 7, 2010

So Thankful for…

The challenge over at Our Creative Corner this week is to create a card or project that depicts something that we are grateful for. For those of you who know me and my story, you already know that my mom has had a pretty rough year. About this time last year, she collapsed while grocery shopping. Her legs just wouldn’t work. As it turns out, she had almost no circulation in her legs. In December, we got hit with the first of 3 big snowstorms and she and my dad were without electricity for a few days. In January, they attempted angioplasty to restore the blood flow to her legs but quickly realized that the blockages were too severe and that they were going to have to do bypass surgery. After several more weeks and two more major snowstorms, she finally got the surgery that got the blood flowing into her legs again. After another short stay in the hospital after a bad reaction to one of the medicines, she has been on the long road to recovery. I am so grateful to still have her and I appreciate all of the prayers that my friends sent to me and my family during those stressful months.

I guess all of that is just a long way of saying that I created a card that symbolizes my mom.

When I was growing up, my mother and I shared such a love for the dogwood tree in our backyard. Unfortunately, the tree was taken down by a storm several years ago, but whenever I see dogwoods I think of my mom and our special tree. My mom is also passionate about butterflies, or flutterbyes as she always calls them. I think this year, in particular, they really represent her. While she is still trying to get back to her old self, she came through very difficult surgery and has continued to do well. Finally, I had to include a heart on the card. I love my mom more than she realizes.

I decided to use the sketch from Sketch Saturday as the framework for my card. Whenever I see these elements, I really do think of my mom and how lucky I am that she is still around for me to call whenever I want to. I truly am grateful for her and how she has always been there for me over the years. I am just glad that I was able to re-pay that at least in a small way this past year, and I hope to have several more years to repay her for everything that she has done for me.

Responses

  1. Your card is so gorgeous and meaningful. Beautiful image and coloring. Thank you for sharing your special story of gratitude. So happy you could join in our celebration of gratitude this week at Our Creative Corner.

  2. Hiya Michelle, beautifull card, thanks for joining us at Sketch Saturday. Hugs Terry xxxx

  3. This is gorgeous. I love cherry flowers.

    I wish everything good for you and your mother.

  4. Beautiful card Michelle! Love the stamp (didn’t knew they were called dogwoods)! Your papers are very pretty too!

    Beautiful story too 🙂

    Thanks so much for making this great card with my sketch at Sketch Saturday!

    Have a nice sunday!

    Leonie xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

